Skip to content

Mission, Vision & Values

Mission Statement

We will ensure that all students learn at high levels.

Vision Statement

We maintain high expectations and a rigorous and relevant academic focus for all learners through purposeful, collaborative relationships. Our students are highly literate, innovative thinkers who understand the need for continuous self-improvement in their pursuit of excellence. They are socially-responsible and value working with others to build positive and productive relationships. They are inspired and prepared to thrive amidst the challenges of the 21st century.


At Escalon USD we value…


We collaborate to promote a shared responsibility and accountability so that all students learn.

Effective teaching

We provide structured ongoing staff development to improve professional practice so that all students learn.

Rigorous/relevant curriculum

We prioritize our resources to provide challenging and meaningful learning experiences so that all students learn.


We hold ourselves to a high professional standard so that all students learn.


We partner with our community as fellow stake holders so that all students learn.

History of the Escalon Unified School District

In 1963, representatives from eight component districts (Burwood, Collegeville, Dent Union, Escalon Union High, Farmington, Four Tree, Lone Tree, and Van Allen)began a series of six meetings commissioned by their component boards to explore the concept of creating one unified school district to serve the educational needs of the districts involved. At the conclusion of these meetings, a recommendation was forwarded to the County Superintendent of Schools that the eight districts form a unified district. The recommendation was approved by the San Joaquin County Board of Education in October 1964.

On February 24, 1965, a public hearing was held on the proposal in the Escalon High School library.

An election day of March 8, 1966 was designated by County Superintendent Gaylord Nelson. Voters approved the unification and on March 15, 1966, the San Joaquin Board of Supervisors created what would soon become the Escalon Unified School District, effective July 1, 1967.

Currently, the Escalon Unified School District is made up of 4 elementary schools (Collegeville, Dent, Farmington and Van Allen), one middle school (El Portal), one comprehensive high school (Escalon High), one continuation high school (Vista) and one charter school (Escalon Charter Academy/Gateway Home School).